Table of Contents Table of Contents
Previous Page  5 / 68 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 5 / 68 Next Page
Page Background

About Florida Atlantic University

FAU is a member of the State University System of

Florida. It was established in 1961 and declared

officially open in 1964 by Lyndon Baines

Johnson, 36th President of the United States.

FAU serves a student body of approximately

30,000 undergraduate and graduate students,

who are taking classes throughout its six-county

service region in southeast Florida. Academically,

the University is organized into ten colleges:

Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine

Charles E. Schmidt College of Science

Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing

College for Design and Social Inquiry

College of Business

College of Education

College of Engineering and Computer


Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and


Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College

The Graduate College

Through these colleges, FAU offers more than

170 degree programs and both faculty and

student researchers are at work in more than

40 research centers and institutes dedicated

to specific disciplines and areas of investigation.

The College of Engineering and Computer Science

houses many of these centers.

FAU is taking its place among the world’s great

research centers and has been designated

a “High Research Activity” institution by the

Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement

of Teaching. The field of ocean engineering

was pioneered at FAU, which established the

country’s first such academic program in 1965.

Now augmented by SeaTech –The Institute

for Ocean and Systems Engineering, the highly

advanced research center in Dania Beach, it

remains one of the best programs of its kind


The FAU Research Park, on 77 acres of the

Boca Raton campus, provides businesses with

a fundamental connection to FAU faculty and

students. The park also assists the University in

developing synergistic efforts in research; all

while providing employment opportunities for


The Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute

is dedicated to exploration, innovation,

conservation and education related to our


The Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine

received preliminary accreditation and

welcomed its first class of future physicians in

Fall 2011.

Additionally, the University presents hundreds

of cultural and educational events every year to

engage members of the outside community.

FAU is accredited by the Commission on

Colleges of the Southern Association of

Colleges and Schools to award associate’s,

bachelor’s, master’s, specialist’s and doctoral



About FAU